Webinar: ‘Fibrous Mineral of the Pilbara’

26th of November 13:30AEDT, 15:30NZDT and 10:30AWST

Wittenoom is not the only location where fibrous riebeckite (or crocidolite) is found in the Pilbara.  The Brockman Iron Formation stretches from Mt Newman in the south, 500 km north west to Cape Preston and contains multiple geological formations including the Joffre and Dales Gorge members.  The Joffre Member of the Brockman Iron Formation is by volume the largest single known banded iron formation (BIF) in the world.  Both the Joffre and Dales Gorge members contain riebeckite zones and crocidolite.  Mr White will discuss the geology of the Brockman Iron Formation and the formation of fibrous minerals and crocidolite.

Speaker:
Chris White

.

Free for all FAMANZ members.