Webinar: Asbestos quantification in soils in the updated WA Guidelines

FAMANZ Webinar | Asbestos quantification in soils in the updated WA Guidelines

 

FAMANZ invites you to attend our upcoming webinar presented by Pierina Otness and Matthew Deaves

 

Date: Thursday 29th April 2021

Times:  3:00pm AEST (5:00pm NZST, 2:30pm ACST, 1:00pm AWST)

Register on the FAMANZ website – look for the Events tab. Members should log on to the FAMANZ website before registering to ensure you receive member rates.

Asbestos in soil may represent an exposure risk where dust and fibres become airborne. But how much of a risk, and at what level of contamination?
This webinar discusses the difficulty with assessing and reliably reporting a quantitative estimate of asbestos in soil against the established 0.001% w/w asbestos in soil guideline.  The focus of the discussion will be on the analysis of asbestos fines soil samples in the laboratory. Asbestos fines are considered to include all asbestos fibres, fibre bundles and asbestos containing materials, including small fragments of bonded ACM, that are smaller than 7 mm x 7 mm.
The level of analysis at laboratories and the means of reporting results can vary greatly.  It is important that laboratories and their clients clearly understand the analytical methodology used to better interpret the information provided within laboratory reports.

 

Meet the Presenters

Pierina Otness, Department of Health MFAMANZ MAIOH

Pierina is experienced in the assessment and management of asbestos in both occupational & non-occupational environments.  She is currently the Senior Toxicologist in the Environmental Health Directorate, Department of Health Western Australia and is enrolled in a research Masters at UWA related to asbestos in the non-occupational environment.  Pierina will summarise the sampling and analytical methodology for asbestos fines in soil & discuss the interpretation of results.

 

Matthew Deaves, Eurofins

Matt is an experienced occupational and environmental professional in both the UK and Australia, specialising in hazardous materials management, risk assessment, contaminated land and the setup & management of NATA accredited laboratories.
Matt will discuss asbestos in soil analysis and reporting from the perspective of a large commercial laboratory.

 

The webinar will be recorded. A link to access the recording will be sent to all registered participants after the webinar.

Location: Zoom – your computer!

Cost: Free for FAMANZ members; $20 non members.

CPD Points: This event will count as 1/2 CPD point in Category B in your Continuous Professional Development programme.

.

Free for all FAMANZ members.