Webinar: Erionite, a NZ Perspective

FAMANZ Webinar |Erionite, a NZ Perspective

FAMANZ invites you to attend a webinar presented by Assoc Prof Martin Brooks and Prof Dr Jennifer Salmond

Date: Thursday 6 May 2021

Times: 2:00pm AEST (4:00pm NZST, 1:30pm ACST, 12:00pm AWST)

 

Register on the FAMANZ website – look for the Events tab.

Erionite is a naturally occurring “asbestiform” mineral that belongs to a group of silicates called zeolites. It is listed by IARC as a Group 1 known carcinogen. Studies have demonstrated that erionite is more carcinogenic than asbestos, with similar health effects to asbestos, and can cause lung diseases such as malignant mesothelioma when inhaled. In New Zealand, erionite is known to occur in at least ten locations across the North & South Islands. In particular, it has been found in the Auckland region, close to New Zealand’s largest, and fastest-growing city. Here, the population density, combined with ongoing and planned large infrastructure projects and greenfield residential site developments have the potential to disturb erionite deposits putting the population at risk if not managed correctly. Erionite has been positively identified at or near the surface in the western suburbs, and so ground engineering projects in this region need to be especially mindful of possible erionite disturbance during ground engineering works.

 

Meet the Presenters

Associate Professor Martin Brook is Head of Earth Science at the University of Auckland. Prior to this, he was an engineering geologist based at Golder Associates in Brisbane, where he worked in the civil and mining sectors.

Professor Jennifer Salmond is Head of Geography at the University of Auckland. Her research interests include air pollution and risk management.

 

The webinar will be recorded. A link to access the recording will be sent to all registered participants after the webinar.

Location: Zoom – your computer!

Cost: $20 non members.

CPD Points: This event will count as 1/2 CPD point in Category B in your Continuous Professional Development programme.

.

Free for all FAMANZ members.