Webinar: Fibrous Mineral of the Pilbara

$20.00

‘Fibrous Mineral of the Pilbara’ is presented by Chris White 26 November 2020 at 13:30AEDT, 15:30NZDT and 10:30AWST.

Category:

Description

FAMANZ is proud to support ASEA during Asbestos Awareness Week, hosting two webinars that you will not want to miss.
‘Fibrous Mineral of the Pilbara’ is presented by Chris White 26 November 2020 at 13:30AEDT, 15:30NZDT and 10:30AWST.

Register to attend at the FAMANZ website [famanz.org].

FAMANZ webinars are free for members (log into the member area and then register).

Wittenoom is not the only location where fibrous riebeckite (or crocidolite) is found in the Pilbara.  The Brockman Iron Formation stretches from Mt Newman in the south, 500 km north west to Cape Preston and contains multiple geological formations including the Joffre and Dales Gorge members.  The Joffre Member of the Brockman Iron Formation is by volume the largest single known banded iron formation (BIF) in the world.  Both the Joffre and Dales Gorge members contain riebeckite zones and crocidolite.  Mr White will discuss the geology of the Brockman Iron Formation and the formation of fibrous minerals and crocidolite.